Teri Radichel
1 min readAug 15, 2023

--

I have concerns based on paying stories that generate responses. These may be stories that are not informative but rather make people angry, causing them to respond rather than a high quality story they liked. I also get a lot of one-upping type of responses on my posts by people who want to prove they are smarter than the author and didn't really take the time to actually read the article - often in which I have addressed what they are writing. Or, I have to take a lot of time removing and blocking malicious responses or explaining the concepts again that were already explained in the article, if the person had actually read it. Or perhaps they are just posting misinformation which I then need to take the time to refute or spammy links. In any case, comments take up a lot of my time so I hide them. I would prefer to be paid on reads, followers, views, and claps versus comments, which are not an accurate judge of the value of an article. It might also be interesting if people could pay for a single article that would then be deducted if they sign up for a subscription and the author gets a cut. Or let authors write a book "real time" and let people "buy the book" and get the content as it arrives. Or subscribe to a single author or set of authors instead of getting a bunch of junk they don't care about.

--

--

Teri Radichel

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award